The First Shoot (2/3)


Finally the time came to… write another blog post, after a week’s hiatus of activity due to a reasonably provoking collection of assignments that brought me pain and an increased desire to give up on impressing my parents. Anyhow, we have something to discuss…

Before the Fashion event started, we set up in what we thought were the right positions that weren’t already taken by either photographers or spectators. So my partner lightsshades set up at the end of the catwalk where they would be facing him, and I, being both brash and ignorant, stationed myself at the wrong side of the catwalk. What I didn’t realise at the moment, was that the models were probably trained to turn towards the audience and away from me, and also, the middle of the catwalk had absolutely no lighting.

Throughout that Fashion Show, I learnt to thoroughly dislike that decision, but it did result in some interesting shots.

vlcsnap-2013-02-16-16h22m17s80

To be honest, it is this kind of ignorance that makes my photos different, sometimes in a bad way, sometimes in a good way. In this case, I can say it definitely gave the video a new perspective. It allowed me to capture what some others may not, and that is the photographers and spectators along with flashing bulbs and those half-smile, half-dead faces of movie goers. Lightsshades mentioned that it captured the atmosphere of a fashion show well, and I agree.

For the fashion show itself, it was split up by the designer which I guess allowed the models to change. Apart from that piece of obvious logic, the show was very fast paced. Models spent less than twenty seconds on the catwalk, and as soon as one left, another one was on, which gave me no time to adjust any of my extremities to be more comfortable. Overall it was a very educational and eye opening experience. And it certainly put my skills to the test.

On a completely unrelated note.. Apparently my school seems to think that we students do not get enough homework, assignments and assessments to fill our already busy schedule. What that means is that this blog is going to go scarce for the next few weeks while I stress out and miss my sleep. BUT DON’T WORRY!

I have a very exciting project coming soon! How ’bout some cross-medium artwork? I hope to finish soon!

Kevin

Leave a Reply

