The Darkroom Floor (Ep 2)


6-6
Another one of my photos that didn’t make it to the photostream. The mood that I was trying to achieve was somewhat of a melancholy one, like someone tried to express their feelings through Instagram. Let me know if I have taken this Instagram thing too far here, I don’t think so, but it does look suspiciously like an Instagram Snap.

Taking a good photo of a tiny canal in Venice is difficult. This was taken from a moving boat, which means that either you see the shot and miss it, or you don’t see any sort of opportunity at all. Plus the sky was a flat white, which allows for nothing but a flat colour.

The first thing I did to this photo was increase contrast and decrease exposure. I wanted the buildings to look dark, and the sky to be subdued. Then I added a grad-filter to the top half do darken it, and then decreased saturation and added a split-tone effect. This was all done in Photoshop Lightroom, and I have to say the result is pretty sweet.

The doubts started coming when I saw it in icon form after it was exported for upload. All it looked like was a vertical tower of… something. So I opened it in Photoshop, and bumped up the brightness. After that, the colours changed slightly, it became a bit colder. Eventually I gave up on this photo and it got cut from the line.

More photos from the “Darkroom Floor” coming! Check back tomorrow.

Kevin Chen

One thought on “The Darkroom Floor (Ep 2)

Leave a Reply

